Skip to content

Zippered dee-doo-dah!

September 1, 2011

Don’t you just love containers? Boxes, tins, tubes, tubs, bags – there is something about that precious little space inside just busting to get filled up with something fabulous. My mom aka Mumsy loves anything container-like, and secretly hoards ziplock bags. (Sorry Ma, your secrets out!) Whenever she comes to visit from South Africa, she cleans me out, because apparently, they “just don’t sell the good ones back home.” So I figured making her a “green” (as in non-plastic)  zip-lock for her goodies would be a hit.

A gift for my zip-lock crazy mama.

I have only ever made the flat zippy pouches before but decided to try one of those box zippered pouches for a change.

There are many tutorials on blogs, Youtube etc. I chose this great step-by-step one on PrettyModern’s blog here and for the most part found it very well laid out. (Loved her fabulous turquoise nail varnish!) I got a tad unsure on Step 13 because I wasn’t sure what the seam allowance was here, or how close to the folded back fabric you’re supposed to sew. Having sewn it now, I think the answer is as close to 1/2″ as you can get with a straight seam.

I used some fabric I had handy since you don’t need very much for these. I picked Half Moon Scissor fabric from Moda for the lining, since she sews. Thanks PrettyModern – that was a cinch! I think Mumsy will be super happy when she gets the package.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 2, 2011 9:08 am

    ♥ Your pouch looks FANTASTIC!!! Thank you for linking back to my blog and I’m so glad you enjoyed the tutorial ♥
    PrettyModern

  2. mananarose permalink
    September 12, 2011 11:46 am

    OKAY SO HERE IS THE MUMSY HERSELF COMMENTING ON THE ZIPPER POUCH.
    IT ARRIVED ON MY DESK TODAY, AND I WAS BLOWN AWAY BERENE BY MY DI VINE DELICIOUS POUCH. IT IS SO PERFECT I CANNOT BELIEVE IT. — YOU ARE NOT MY CHILD, I ALWAYS MAKE A BIT OF A MESS WITH MY SEWING ( YOU KNOW I DO), AND I LOVE IT.!!!
    WHAT WILL I USE IT FOR AS IT MUST NEVER GET WET OR MESSED UP — I THINK MY PRECIOUS SEWING THINGS LIKE LITTLE SCISSORS, COTTONS, THIMBLE AND LITTLE HANDWORK ETC. YOU KNOW THE SORT OF STUFF I TAKE TO BED WITH ME, OR EVEN TO TRAVEL WITH!
    I LOVE IT AND WILL TRULY TREASURE IT.
    WELL DONE. ITS AWESOME
    YAY. MAMA
    XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

Leave a Reply

