Skip to content

The skeleton in my closet.

September 22, 2011
pumpkin skeleton

Here’s a mini prototype version to see how she looks sewn up.

This weeks Spoonflower contest called for a Jack O’Lantern plushie design. Well, I love Halloween, but the Jack o’lantern is not my fave thing. I prefer the dark side, especially the bats and the skeletons! We have a collection of skeletons in our closet (Yep we have a few!) that I hang from our maple trees in the front yard, with a graveyard made from the crisp, orange leaves below. Then I set up the spot lights to shine on the hanging bones after dark. It usually looks great!

So when it came to the Jack O’Lantern contest I decided that instead of a pumpkin I was going to make a skeleton plushie dressed in a pumpkin costume. (I know, I’m a bit of a brat when it comes to following rules.) Her name is Pumpkin Skellie and she’s 30″ tall. There’s also a smaller 12″ one in the works. Should be soon. If you think Skellie is vote worthy, she’d appreciate you taking a few mins to swing a vote her way. You can vote for her here.

skeleton fabric

Here’s Skellie taking a break from costume wearing. (Apparently hanging out in a pumpkin suit all day is exhausting)

The fabric panel looks like this:

Jack o lantern skeleton fabric designYou all did such a great job voting for Fab Fox that he made 5th place. Let’s see what we can do for Skellie.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Rosemary sellars permalink
    September 23, 2011 8:28 am

    Wow, just LOVE this skellie, and would love this fellow in my closet. Congratulations and well done. gREAT design! Good luck!!!!!

  2. Kate Erbach permalink
    September 23, 2011 8:34 pm

    Oh my gosh I HAVE to have this! I think this is a WINNER for sure. First place, no doubt.

  3. September 27, 2011 8:45 pm

    Super Cute… but can’t find it on the spoonflower site to vote. Looked through all 7 pages of entries but didn’t find Skellie.

Leave a Reply

