Skip to content

A not-too-shabby haby.

September 26, 2011

I got an exciting / scary email from Jodie Maloni in Melbourne, Australia. Scary because she informed me that there were only 90 days left till Christmas! Eeek!!! How did that happen? Somehow, while it’s still September, I can convince myself that there’s a little summer left in the bag that I can squeeze out before Fall gets here. Although, with the weather we’ve had over the past few days in Vancouver, it feels like it summer has dropped us like a dirty shirt on laundry day. (Growl.)

Jodie has a divine online haberdashery store called The Haby Goddess and her mission is to “put the chic back into haberdashery!” Def worth a peek. Even for those of us far away she has some neat craft projects (like making backing cards for your gifts from scanned fabric) and some super helpful tutorials (like how to add a side pocket to an existing garment). And, if like me, you have family outside of North America, online shops closer to their homes makes shipping times and costs much more likeable. So pay her lovely shop or blog a visit.

Haberdashery Australia

Love those little blue bird buttons!

The exciting part of her email was that this week she is featuring the Happy Sew Lucky Santa kit on her blog here. Thanks Jodie! I guess it’s time Santa dusted off his boots and stuck his head out of the box. Every Christmas I get caught making gifts and decorating the house at the last minute, and swear that “next year I am going to start early” so I don’t have to get my knickers in a twist. (I guess I’ll have to check in in December and see if you can in fact teach an old horse new tricks.) Hmmm. But for those of you fabulously organized peeps out there, (Yes, Kate, who ordered 20 Li’l Birdies for her “blue Christmas tree” a few weeks ago (!) you are one of them.) visit this post and poke your nose around her shop for a little jingle bells inspiration.

On that note I’ll leave you with Santa. If the thought of Christmas in September gives you a spot of heart burn, just wash it down with a swig of eggnog & brandy! Heh, heh..

Father Christmas sewing pattern

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Kate Erbach permalink
    October 3, 2011 8:27 pm

    Oh heck, now I REALLY gotta get ’em sewn. Or be banished from blogtown.

    • berene permalink
      October 3, 2011 10:43 pm

      Heh heh! Don’t let me stress you out, Kate. I still haven’t sewn up all my Spoonflower Converse sneaker stockings I ordered LAST November… 😀

Leave a Reply

