Skip to content

October = Breast cancer awareness month

September 28, 2011
Breast cancer doctor

Rosie’s diary: Getting assessed.

I don’t know anyone who hasn’t been touched in some way by breast cancer, and if those lucky souls are out there, they are few and far between.

Rosie’s diary: Solitary journey

My mom had it and survived, and I am so proud of her! (These are amazing ink drawings are from the diary she used to document her journey. Thanks for sharing these, Mumsy.)

In addition to my mom I have friends who have had it, friends who lost their mom to it and one friend who just found out last week that she has it.

Rosie’s diary: May 19th.

So for all these reasons we all need to do what we can to raise money for research, not only to benefit us, but also our kids, our husbands, our sisters, our friends and family. Every little bit helps. My friend Krista, of Poppyprint fame, put together a team for this year’s Walk To End Breast Cancer. They raised a whopping $40,000+! Which is just awesome. Woot, woot! I designed their team a logo which I made into an embroidery pattern, since most of the women on her team were sewists. Krista stitched it up and posted it on her blog here.

Pink Ribbon patternSoon after people started writing and asking where they could buy the pattern. So we decided to post it on my Etsy shop as a continuation of the fundraiser. The pattern, found here, costs $5.40 (the 40c covers the Etsy listing fee and commission) and 100% of the $5.00 will be donated to the Canadian Breast Cancer Foundation at the end of the calendar year.

BariJBari J featured it on her fabulous embroidery blog. Check it out. And it seems to be a bit of a hit. (My boobs thank you Bari J!)

If you don’t know Bari J she is one creative lady with very busy hands! Not only does she make lovely things but she also designs fabric & patterns, blogs, and has an online shop.

My final note is: get a regular mammo and make it a fun experience. My friend JW and I always do it together, and then go out for a delicious dim sum lunch afterwards. I actually look forward to just because we share it. Thanks JW!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 28, 2011 11:32 am

    You know, it really was your mom’s diagnosis and your creative gift to her that brought us together, wasn’t it? Yet another happy outcome. Thanks for offering your stitchery so there can be more happy outcomes for other women and their families, Berene. Her diary sketches are incredible and raw and amazing.

  2. Dianne permalink
    September 29, 2011 9:24 am

    Your Mother’s drawings are so poignant! I love that she makes the Doctor small and herself as large as her life. Thanks to both of you for sharing and encouraging women to not only take care of their “girls” but to survive the disease and live a rich full life.

  3. berene permalink
    September 29, 2011 9:33 am

    Thanks Krista and Dianne for your lovely comments.
    Krista, you’re right, my meeting you was a silver lining of my mom’s diagnosis. And for that I am grateful. I think I should blog about that marathon quilt project sometime! Just need to get Mumsy to take some pics of it for me.
    Dianne, you’ll have to meet my mom next time she’s in Vancouver. She is totally a larger than life person. She exudes energy, and has a history of climbing over boulders that fall on her path – with gusto!

  4. October 5, 2011 1:12 pm

    those drawings are amazing! we saw your pink ribbon stitch pattern on craft gossip and it inspired us to use our craftiness to help raise awareness, too. we made a pink ribbon coffee sleeve. our aunt was diagnosed with breast cancer this year, it is in honor of her, too.

    http://www.etsy.com/listing/83088486/pink-ribbon-breast-cancer-awareness?ref=pr_shop

Leave a comment