Skip to content

Hand-printed fabric swap & *giveaway*!

November 21, 2011

I saw this hand-printed fabric swap a while back and thought it sounded like fun, so I signed up. We got a list of four partners and their fave colours, and had to hand-print them each a fat quarter.  So last week my kitchen was turned into a bit of a gong show (what’s new?!) while I got stuck into some printing.

Fabricana had some lovely linen-cotton blend fabrics so I got some white and natural linen options. I made this pencil stamp by cutting craft foam out with a scalpal, then pasting it onto a piece of firm foam I had. Aside from having to clean the corners every so often, it worked nicely. Love the effect of the step and repeat.

One of my swap partners was a red fan so of course, I had to go with a LOVE theme – one of my faves. I had these letter stamps from when I had made a prototype of my Love Banner, which was a bonus.

I added a row of little fuschia dots for fun, using the eraser back of a pencil. It was a brand new one so the round eraser hat a perfectly flat end and it worked like a dream.

I was quite happy with the outcome of it – aside from a few little inky glitches which, I guess, are part of the hand-printed process.

Another partner who was into whales, so I made another stamp with craft foam. I used a roller for the whale body and a paint brush for the splash.

She picked grey and aquas as her colours which worked well with the whale theme.

The whale was working for me so I stuck with him for the last partner too. This chartreuse ink was a bit stickier than the others but the texture that created on the stamp from the roller seemed apt for a wet whale.

Here are the final pieces which I popped into the mail on Friday.

I also squeezed a wee HSL gift in the envelopes for good measure. Christmas is coming after all.

And talking about prezzies…..

While I was on a roll, I made an extra fat quarter for one of you in rainbow colours. Perfect for making a little zippy pouch or purse. There are 3 designs on one fat quarter of linen-cotton blend up for grabs. Pinky-red dot mix, Rainbow Asterix’s and Green Eggs No Ham, based on a larger version of my Soft-Boiled Spoonflower design. I used a freezer paper stencil for this last one. Have to say I love it in the green. May have to add that to my Spoonflower collection.

If you’d like to win this fat quarter, leave a comment with your email or blog address. I will pick a number on Friday November 25. If you win, I’d like a pic of what you make with it too.

Here’s a peek at more handprinted fabric in the swap.

And now, sigh, for my sad confession: Look what I did to my True Religions!! 😦

A big fat splodge of white ink. Totally sacrilegious! The most annoying part is that I had had my painting jeans on before, but had to get changed into my TR’s as I had an appointment to go to. Of course when I got home, being the impulsive type, I just wanted to get stuck back into printing and didn’t put the oldies back on. What a brat. Well, I guess I’m going to have to pay for this sin. Was that lighting I just heard???

ADDENDUM: Shweta from Essknits asked what inks I had used. Good question! So here’s the scoop:

setacolor pebeo jacquard fabric paint ink

Note the OPAQUE and TRANSPARENT on the labels.

I use a few different inks but my two fave brands are Jacquard made by Rupert, Gibbon & Spider in California, USA, and  Setacolor made by Pébéo in Europe. Both use water for clean-up and require heat setting with an iron or a dryer. Choose your labels carefully as they have transparent and opaque options, so depending on what colour your fabric is and whether you want to overlap colours or not, you need to pick the right one. I like the consistency of these inks as they are liquid enough to flow when you apply them, but thick enough not to run.

Make sure when you choose your inks that they are nice and fresh. They can dry up in time. I also have used some of my silkscreen inks for hand-printing but they tend to be a bit too thick & sticky to make nice smooth prints.

28 Comments leave one →
  1. November 21, 2011 4:25 pm

    Those all came out so nicely. I adore your pencils and love fat quarters especially. I am now wishing I had joined this swap when Krista told me about it.

  2. berene permalink
    November 21, 2011 4:37 pm

    I’m sure there’ll be another time. It was at a very busy time of year. I just added a link on my post to the Flickr page for the swap. But it wasn’t there when you read it so thought you’d like to see it. Here’s the link:
    http://www.flickr.com/groups/handprintedfabric/

  3. Heather Blewett permalink
    November 21, 2011 4:54 pm

    A fabric swap makes so much more sense than a cookie swap! OO OOOH- I want to join too! Heather (Sewer and Repairer of Skellie the wonder friend)

  4. November 21, 2011 5:22 pm

    Oh wow you made great stuff!!! I’m too afraid to try printing on fabric but I’m also ridiculously itching to give it a try.
    Wish I’d seen this swap, it might have been the kick in the pants I needed to actually try it.
    Guess I’ll just have to win yours 🙂

  5. November 21, 2011 5:23 pm

    All of your prints turned out so awesomely (well, except for your fancypants, sorry about the TR’s). Don’t count me for the giveaway, I’ve already been blessed. Thanks pal!

  6. stella permalink
    November 21, 2011 5:57 pm

    Love, love, love the fabric (especially the LOVE one!) and would love to win the fabric although I can’t sew….need to learn so that I can make some cool stuff for this little girl of mine. Love the fabric swap idea and love that you are doing what you love, B. xoxo

  7. November 21, 2011 6:18 pm

    Oh my goodness these are fantastic! I love the pencil, and the Love one, well I love them all really! 😀

  8. Jo Ann permalink
    November 21, 2011 6:48 pm

    Love your fabrics! You always do fabulous things. Excluding the whoops of course.

  9. November 21, 2011 8:42 pm

    Wow! You’re so talented, Berene! I love the LOVE print and those pencils came out so well! You definitely have lucky swap partners.

  10. November 22, 2011 2:41 am

    Wow I would love to win this grand fabric and make something really special out of it !

  11. Rosemary Sellars permalink
    November 22, 2011 3:44 am

    Green eggs have always given me the willies. I get spots all over my belly and shooting stars in front of my eyes. I will make a breakfast mat for myself if I win. In that way breakfast will never be the same. Ooops

  12. November 22, 2011 4:21 am

    your designs are so cool! I especially love the asterisks, but they’re all great, right down to the inky glitches that give them all that handmade charm. I haven’t done hand-printed fabric in years – now I’m itching to try it again!

  13. November 22, 2011 6:01 am

    Oh these are so juicy-lovely!! ME WANT!!!! (*to be read in your best Cookie Monster voice*). Wonderfully pretty and oh-so-useably fun. 😀

  14. November 22, 2011 9:17 am

    they are all super cute! good job! i bet the people who get them are going to love them!

  15. November 22, 2011 12:05 pm

    Wow! These three fabrics are so cute together! I would love to win them to make my daughters something incredibly cute and colourful with. They are 3 years and 10 months old and cute girls just need cute clothes!!
    I got the itch to handprint fabric a year ago, bought all the materials and even cut out a lino stamp… still not actually printed with it. Must, must, must get around to it next year! 🙂
    BTW I think you should hand print the word ‘woops!’ onto your jeans now!

  16. Eryn permalink
    November 22, 2011 2:23 pm

    Oh please oh please count me in for the giveaway… just think if a local wins how much you’ll save on postage ;o) Love them all. And the fun foam is an awesome idea I might try with my Brownies!

  17. Katy (Lethargiclass) permalink
    November 22, 2011 2:42 pm

    oh wow… if I didn’t have a million things to make for my show and for gifts I would so be trying that right now lol… you rock my world!

  18. Hueisei permalink
    November 23, 2011 2:01 am

    Thanks for the chance to win this wonderful fabric!

  19. November 24, 2011 1:52 pm

    Berene, these are fabulous! i didn’t know that you did handprinted fabric as well, you DO EVERYTHING! i think my favourites are the love fabric and the pencil fabric (your repeats are so perfect, damn you.) and your giveaway is awesome, i love all three prints, but especially the multicoloured dots. yum!

    i have a whole bin of stuff that i’ve collected to start printing fabric again, but of course i haven’t gotten around to it. i need to get my butt in gear!

    (Eryn, those precut fun foam pieces would work perfectly for Brownies! i picked up some snowflakes to use as stamps, so simple than even Sparks could do it!)

  20. Paula permalink
    November 27, 2011 11:58 am

    Awesome fabrics Berene! You are sooo creative! I hope I’m not too late for the giveaway …

  21. Gwen Windham permalink
    November 27, 2011 1:35 pm

    I have never done hand printing on fabric before– but I LOVE what you’ve designed!!! You’ve definitely got me wanting to try that out now!!! Thanks! 🙂

  22. November 29, 2011 2:08 pm

    Your work is adorable in photos – and just as amazing in person. (Won’t fess up to which it is yet, so the other swap mates can be surprised.)

    Thank you so much for the package and the sweet little extra pressie! The package came last week, but my home was topsy turvy for window replacements (all of them!), and I didn’t let myself open them until after the turmoil was done on the weekend.

    • berene permalink
      November 29, 2011 2:26 pm

      Thanks Janice! Glad that you like your fabric. It was such fun doing it, that I’m now doing some tea towels for Christmas gifts.

      • December 12, 2011 2:01 pm

        So sad that packages reached Spain but not Canada yet. Fingers crossed for some better mail news this week.

        I will redo and try fedex or something if things look dour.

  23. December 1, 2011 11:02 am

    I love my LOVE fabric – it look fabulous in red! Thanks so much for your thoughtfulness and being an ace swap team member!

    • berene permalink
      December 1, 2011 11:11 am

      Awesome! So glad you like it. Yours just arrived and I love it too. Mod and fabulous. Thanks!

  24. January 25, 2012 4:55 pm

    What kind of paint did you use?

    • berene permalink
      January 26, 2012 12:11 pm

      Hi Shweta
      Thanks for asking. I should have really included this info before. I have added an addendum at the end of my post with the info on the inks. Good luck!
      Berene
      PS: I love that you’re a knitter and your name is shweta. It’s just perfect!

Leave a Reply

