Skip to content

Introducing Bobby von Sandwichface (and his first craft tutorial)

November 30, 2011

If proud mama’s that boast about their kids annoy you, then stop reading this post now. I have two kidlets and they have both been indoctrinated into the way of craft since, well, pretty much since they could breathe. Certainly before they learned any sport, which by the way was entirely their father’s responsibility, given that I have zero skills in that department. But I digress…

What can I say? The kid was gifted from an early age.

Kidlet#1 placed 5th in the Spoonflower kids contest this year with his debut as Bobby von Sandwichface. His design was called The Amazing Milky Way. Space being one of his obsessions, it was an obvious subject choice.

Space fabric

He drew it with a Sharpie marker, then scanned it into Illustrator, outlined it and coloured it. I love this detail of the Milky Way pouring milk into the Big Dipper.

Milk pouring into the Big Dipper

Well, Christmas is coming and if the geese aren’t getting fat, I think parts of me may be compensating. (All that winter weather baking!) And since this crazy gift giving time is on it’s way, starting today I am going to post a series of ideas / tutorials for making hand-made gifts. Not all specifically Christmassy gifts. In fact many of the ideas I’ve documented are good for birthdays, Father’s Day or any old “Look what I made you!” days.

In our house we make a lot of hand-made gifts. Tshirts are one of our faves since everyone wears them, they’re inexpensive and pretty easy to personalize. We have a few different techniques for designing Tshirts. And I’ve documented many productions of them over the years so I’m consolidating my pics into video tutorials to share. Today’s tutorial is also the launch of “Bobby von Sandwichface’s Epic Craft Tutorials – Awesome crafts that even a kid can do.”  The title is pretty self-descriptive. So on that note, welcome “Bobby”!

Hope this inspires you and your kids to be creative rather than buy plastic for the landfill. And it’s a great way to spend time over the holidays. More from Bobby to follow soon.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. becky permalink
    November 30, 2011 1:51 pm

    fantastic work!! bobby von sandwichface!! keep up the great work!!!

  2. Sandrine Pelissier permalink
    November 30, 2011 2:33 pm

    Great tutorial Bobby !! Very entertaining to watch! Great T shirt.
    “Well, Christmas is coming and if the geese aren’t getting fat, I think parts of me may be compensating. “: You crack me up Berene 🙂

  3. Katy (Lethargiclass) permalink
    November 30, 2011 6:45 pm

    I can’t get the video to work 😦

    • berene permalink
      November 30, 2011 10:36 pm

      Hey Katy. That’s weird as it’s working on our end on computer and iPhone. Are you trying to watch it in your email, online or on your phone? I have just loaded it up on Flickr too. So you can watch it there.
      IS anyone else having problems watching the video?

  4. December 4, 2011 5:16 pm

    I love it! so simple yet so perfect! Great job, Bobby von Sandwichface! I can see me using a version of this method very easily – thanks!

Leave a Reply

