Skip to content

Needle books!

January 11, 2012

Crafty dame, Amy, knows I have a bit of a thing for needle books. In fact, her face was the inspiration for my Milly needle books. She has a lot of character, and that always catches my attention, so I doodled her during a VMQG meeting a while back. I liked the doodle, and made it into a needle book kit which you may recall from this post. (The three versions available in my Etsy shop: red head, blonde and purple rinse)

needle book pattern design

Last week Amy dropped me a line to tell me about this little challenge by Generation Q ezine. Oooh. Needlebooks. I’m in! The challenge involved making a felt needle book using their free toadstool pattern, available here. Not being a placid, taupe kinda girl, I of course had to take it on the bright side of life.

Free needlebook pattern

The next step was to develop your own pattern. I decided on a Japanese girl face. I thought she was quite sweet and innocent looking. My kids, however, immediately decided that she was “Miss Swan” from Mad TV. LOL. Not quite what I had in mind! Might be the bob hair-cut that got them going. Either way, here she is:

Japanese pattern needle book

Inside are felt pages inside for needles. Needlebooks are quick & fun to sew up, and make great travelling needle carriers when you’re taking your stitch work on the go with you.

felt craft pattern

So what do you think: sweet and innocent Japanese girl, or crazy Miss Swan? If it’s the latter I may have to make a matching handbag mini pincushion.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 11, 2012 12:35 pm

    Well it must be the latter b/c obv. you need to make the matching handbag! SOOO cute!!!

  2. Sandrine Pelissier permalink
    January 11, 2012 12:47 pm

    Those needle book are super cute!

  3. Rosemary Sellars permalink
    January 11, 2012 2:04 pm

    Oooooops pursed lips, little giggley eyes. It has to be Miss Swan having a little private joke with a friend.

  4. January 17, 2012 8:04 pm

    I already have the red head needle book but I figure I could also use a Miss Swan especially if she has a matching mini pin cushion!

  5. Nancy L permalink
    January 18, 2012 8:25 pm

    It’s a vote for Miss Swan. Ya. Ya. I tell you eveything. He looka like a man! ;0)

    • berene permalink
      January 18, 2012 8:33 pm

      Heh heh. I heart Miss Swan.

Leave a Reply

