Skip to content

Rainbow Mash-up Quilt

March 11, 2016

PrintAs anyone who knows me knows, I am a rainbow enthusiast. When asked what my favourite colour is I am somewhat stumped, and usually revert to providing a favourite colour combination. There’s something about the juxtaposition of colours that makes my heart skip a beat. So when I decided to design a quilt for a transparency quilt workshop that I was teaching, of course it had to be a rainbow. And a 16 colour one at that!

RMQ.rainbow

I combined this rainbow of solids with one of my faves Essex Yarn Dyed Linen. I love how the colours pop against the linen.

RMQ.closeup

And for the binding I picked Alison Glass Geometry Sunset. The fractal colours are just perfect for this quilt design. And for the backing my daughter picked out the Alison Glass Abacus because it has the weeniest colour wheel that was clearly meant to be on this quilt.

RMQ.binding

I’m really pretty psyched with  how it turned out. The PDF pattern is available in my Rainbow Mashup Quilt Pattern. Or you can buy the kit here at FabricSpark.  (If Daryl is sold out of the kit, message her as she keeps a waitlist and restocks.)

Fabric Spark logo

Here’s my last pic from our photoshoot. Have a great day!

RainbowMashUpForest.HSL

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 11, 2016 6:18 pm

    This is gorgeous! Great colour choices!

  2. Michelle permalink
    June 5, 2016 6:27 pm

    What are the dimensions of this gorgeous quilt. I checked the pattern but I do not see this info.

    Thank you

    • June 5, 2016 6:32 pm

      Hi Michelle
      The sample I made is 63″ square. However the pattern gives cutting instructions for 8 different sizes from 14″ square to 84″ square.
      The pattern is available in my etsy shop (“Happysewluckyshop”) as a PDF download or you can buy the kit to make this exact 63″ version at http://www.FabricSpark.com.

Leave a Reply

