Skip to content

Doodle Memory Game

December 4, 2012

home made toys games

This is a tutorial for a Memory Game which I designed for my five year old niece. It makes 56 super cute pairs of “cards”– 112 in total – with plaid or dotted colours. You will need one yard of my “Doodle Memory Game” fabric to make the cards, and if you want a matching pouch to keep them in you will need a fat quarter of the “Doodle Owl Rainbow” fabric. You can of course make the pouch out of any fabric. The Game name type is on the Game fabric so you can still put the name on your pouch. You could also make the memory card game with any picture fabric – as long as you have two of each picture, and some backing fabric. You don’t have to have 56, in fact 56 is quite a lot! For littlees even 20 or 30 will do. But I got carried away while drawing these and couldn’t decide which to nix, so I threw the lot in there.

Home School craft projects

This is what one yard looks like.

Hand drawn fabric design

Save the text at the bottom for your zipper pouch when cutting.

YOU WILL NEED:

Fabric mentioned above

36″ x 20″ Iron-on Medium weight Fuseable Interfacing

White cotton thread

Scissors, Iron and the usual sewing supplies.

If you are making the zipper pouch you will also need:

12″ zipper

7″ x 1″ piece of Heat ‘n Bond (or similar fuse material)

14″ x 13″ of solid fabric for the pouch lining.

PATTERN INFO:

Seam allowance = 1/4″ (6mm)

Double stitch at start and end of all seams.

STEP 1: PREPARATION

A) Press your fabric. Cut it in two, one piece with the section with the square picture cards and the other with the owl backing fabric. Iron interfacing onto the back of the piece with the squares on it. If you use Pellon like I did you will see that it is exactly the same width for your convenience.

Pellon 911FF Interfacing

B) Cut 2 1/2″ strips of the Owl fabric backing piece and then cut them into 2 1/2″squares – you will need 112 squares. Cut up all the squares along all the thin black lines.

Happy Sew Lucky Fabric

STEP 2: STITCH THEM UP!

A) With right sides together place a picture square with a backing square. Stitch all around leaving a 1″ gap on the side that is the bottom of the picture. Repeat for all 56 squares.Trim the corners.

Memory game B) Use a fat straw and pokey stick to turn them right side out.

fabric turning tools

If you have a minion take full advantage of them, as this can be fun for them but tedious for us. Besides you’re making dinner later, right?  🙂

kid helper

2 C) Turn in the seam allowances at the openings at the bottoms.

Bird House

2D) Press.

Fabric Memory Game

2 E) Stitch the openings at the bottoms closed.

Memory Game fabric Pear

Well your game cards are done! Now if you’d like to make a pouch for them follow this tutorial on how to make a flat zippy pouch. Or if you prefer a gusseted zipper pouch like the one shown in my pic above, I will be posting a gusseted zipper pouch tutorial soon. You could also Google “Gusseted Zipper pouch tutorial” There are lots out there. You will need to cut your rectangles 12″ wide x 7 1/2″ high. When you fold the corners to sew across for the gusset you should sew a 2 1/2″ seam across the corners at 90 degrees to your side seam. Drop me a comment me if you are stuck. I appliquéd the Game name panel on with Heat ‘n Bond and then stitched around the edges.

Here is my schweetie niece playing her memory game. I’m told that the undies are the faves – no surprises there – and because I’m the one who made the game, they are “Beenie’s undies”! Awesome. My fave, of course, is the Converse sneakers. Let me know which are your little ones faves if you decide to make one. Have fun playing.

DMG.Phinie

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Liz Tius permalink
    February 8, 2013 11:12 am

    You are so clever. What a great little game. I have just ordered the fabric to make one. May have to order a second set for my other granbaby. I have seen you at VMQG and find what you make so amazing.

    • berene permalink
      February 8, 2013 8:52 pm

      Hi Liz
      Thanks for the kind words. Please introduce yourself to me at our next VMQG meeting. And good luck stitching the Doodle Memory Game. I think your grandkids will have fun with it. My niece just loves hers.

  2. March 6, 2013 1:55 pm

    That is so cute! When my kids were little, I made them all kinds of fabric games (perfect for church!) Quiet books were my fav tho. But this is great! They loved the memory game too, don’t all kids?!?! A wonderful idea! Great talent you have!
    Cheri

    • berene permalink
      March 7, 2013 7:02 am

      Hi Cheri
      Mom’s always need a good stash of kid entertainment in their bags for those “emergency moments”. Because fabric is washable, and as you mentioned quiet to play with, it makes great toys. Kids themselves are not always as quiet (or washable!) but that’s what makes them worth having I guess! 🙂
      Thanks for your lovely comment.
      Berene

  3. nohatsinthehouse permalink
    April 20, 2013 9:46 pm

    Love this!!

  4. April 26, 2013 10:20 am

    This is such a cute project!

  5. May 3, 2013 12:54 am

    Oh my this is pure cuteness!!!

Leave a comment