Skip to content

Hot tamales, muchachos!

January 10, 2012

My pot holders from the FVMQG / VMQG swap arrived last week. (This is the swap that I made these for.) Lysa, my swap partner, had a family matter to sort out, so she emailed me to let me know that she’d have to miss the deadline. And for some reason she thought I needed to be treated for being so patient, when really, I was just tanning my butt in the sunshine in Sydney (= suffering!), so she sent me a double whammy surprise, and then some.

Instead of a pair, she made two sets of potholders. On the first set she appliqued / machine-illustrated tea cups and a kettle. I love the scribbley linework!

teacup illustration

teacup potholder

stitched drawing

The second set was made with this funky, mod fabric with fabulous tea cups on it. (I don’t drink coffee, so they are tea cups!) Lysa then embroidered a couple of moustaches on for amusement sake. Love those muchachos!

moustache potholder

Embroidered moustache

Then on top of two sets of potholders, Lysa also snuck this little bit of fabulousness in the package: a moustache cup cosy. It make me squawk out loud when I saw it. I love it! And look how toasty it looks on a hot chocolate with whipped cream and drizzle.

Red spotted patch coffee cosy

felt coffee cosy

Thanks Lysa for the treasures. And I promise that I will no longer pull my sweater over my hands to use them as potholders anymore. (I know – I’m just genius!)

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 10, 2012 7:47 pm

    Lucky duck! I love those artistic tea cups and the stripey binding. What a fun bonus moustache cup cosy!

  2. January 11, 2012 12:44 am

    Oooh those are cool! You’ve very lucky! I have the tea cup fabric and I think I may just have to go and embroider some moustaches on them,

  3. January 11, 2012 7:28 am

    Yes lucky you! I also really like the scribbly stiching around the cups and the tea cups. Great choice of fabrics too:-)

  4. January 11, 2012 8:14 pm

    Haha, I just added a moustache cozy to my shop! Must be contagious! Congrats on the cool gifts.

Leave a comment